Welcome to Tax Payer's Corner

The Directorate of Agricultural Income Tax is one of the oldest Directorates of Government of West Bengal under the administrative control of Finance Department. It is located at New Annex Building, 6th floor 14 Beliaghata Road, Kolkata 700015. The Directorate is headed by the Commissioner of Agricultural Income Tax, West Bengal, appointed under section 21 of the Bengal Agricultural Income Tax Act, 1944 and has another branch, namely, Directorate of MB Tax and UL Taxes. The Commissioner, Agricultural Income Tax is the ex-officio Commissioner of the Multi-storeyed Building Tax and Urban Land Taxes. The Commissioner, Agricultural Income Tax is also the Commissioner of Entertainments Tax, West Bengal. The AI Tax Branch looks after all the works relating to entertainments tax, betting tax on horse racing, luxury tax and charges on lottery draws under various Acts and Rules. Below the Commissioner, there are 3 posts of Additional Commissioner- two for A I Tax Branch and one for MB Tax Branch. At present, the AI Tax Branch of the Directorate has 20 (twenty) Regional Offices in different districts. For administrative convenience, the Regional Offices have been divided under four circles viz. Kolkata, Howrah, Burdwan and Malda Circles each headed by a Deputy Commissioner. Assistant Commissioners are the first appellate authorities and the Agricultural Income Tax Officers and Building Tax Officers are assessing authorities. Below them, Inspectors perform very important roles. In each office, from Group-D to Head Assistant, usual staff pattern is followed.
The MB Tax Branch has its office located in Kolkata only and is manned by the Officers and Staff recruited through A I Tax Branch. From 1st July, 2014 the office is running from New Annex Building, 6th floor 14 Beliaghata Road, Kolkata 700015.
The Acts namely, The West Bengal Multi-storeyed Building Tax Act, 1979 and The West Bengal Urban Land Taxation Act, 1976, were repealed with effect from 1st April, 1999, subject to certain transitory provisions. The officers and staff of the MB Tax Branch are being utilized mainly for A I Tax Branch since then.
A part of the work of the Directorate, particularly relating to the assessment and collection of electricity duty from WBSEDCL & CESC who are the two licensees and collectors of electricity duty has been entrusted to the officers of the Agricultural Income Tax Directorate.

Contact us
Head Office: New Annex Building, 6th floor,
14 Beliaghata Road, Kolkata - 700015,
Ph – 033 2251 0436
E-mail - helpdeskaitax@gmail.com

Home | Location | Download | FAQs | Contact Us
© Copyright AITAX 2011. All Rights Reserved.