Total Visitor
Total Visitor

The Directorate of Agricultural Income Tax is one of the oldest Directorates of Government of West Bengal under the administrative control of Finance Department. The Bengal Agricultural Income Tax Act was introduced in the year 1944. The Act was applicable over undivided Bengal province of British India. After independence, the Directorate of Agricultural Income Tax started as a wing under the Finance Department, Government of West Bengal. Initially, the Directorate administered only the Bengal Agricultural Income Tax Act 1944 throughout the state of West Bengal. The basic activity of this Directorate was to collect agricultural income tax on agricultural products including tea and to collect Cess from Tea Estates. Over the years, the Directorate had been entrusted with the additional responsibility of collecting indirect taxes from different sources, such as taxes on entertainments, luxuries and betting and also charges on lotteries. A part of the work of the Directorate of Electricity Duty, particularly relating to the assessment and collection of electricity duty from WBSEDCL & CESC who are the two licensees and collectors of electricity duty, is also entrusted to the offices of the Agricultural Income Tax Directorate.

Help Desk
Ph : 033 2251 0436
Home | Location | Download | FAQs | Contact Us
© Copyright AITAX 2011. All Rights Reserved.